Train to Budapest

I was terrified of getting a puncture and missing my train. The previous day I got one on the spiky, glass-covered streets of Berlin. It was my second in Berlin, third in my lifetime, ever. But then, I have only been cycling for a couple of years. I was a late starter – put off by an accident I had when I was twelve: hill – park bench – slide – concrete. I snapped my two front teeth in half, exposing raw nerve. After that the bike just sat in the garage until Dad saw I wasn’t using it and asked for it back.

I became a born again cyclist in Brighton two years ago. A friend went traveling and lent me her BMX – a bike small enough for me, but with  no gears hilly Brighton was tricky to navigate. So I made myself a “new” bike out of recycled parts and lots and lots of help from Cranks DIY Bike Maintenance Workshop in Brighton. Florence the bike cost me a total of £11 to build, and although she was heavy (like a tank in a petticoat), she’s the non-human thing I always miss most when traveling.

The bike I pedaled, loaded down with stuff, across Berlin this morning is the same one I picked up in Copenhagen just before the Cop 15 demonstrations. I donated 50DKK for her, which some people said was a lot, but €6 isn’t much for a bike and despite needing the odd touch up, she was pretty much ready to ride. I knew we would be together for a while.

When my friend Samantha emailed from Brighton to tell me about her cycling adventure from Vienna – Budapest – Belgrade – Montenegro – who knows where… demanding to know when I would meet up with her, I thought maybe my two-wheeled companion and I could go on a trip.

Now here I am munching Salzstangen (like long, straight pretzels) and drinking Yerba Mate on the train to Budapest. Today is Friday. My train gets in at 22:32 and I will follow my printed map to the host of my Couchsurfing host in her flat in Buda and stay with her until I meet up with Sam on Monday.

2 thoughts on “Train to Budapest

  1. If room is 550 to 850 sq ft an air conditioner 8000 to 11000 BTU is suggested.

    If room is 400 to 550 sq ft an air conditioner
    6000 to 8000 BTU is suggested. However, it is very important to clean the evaporator coil at least once a year before start
    up.

Leave a Reply

