Back to the Road

“Where are you going this time?” my friends in Brighton ask. “Same place I’m always going – trying to get to Iran!”

Strange how only yesterday I published the post about leaving the UK the last time, all those months ago. Tomorrow I will leave again: Take Three of the same journey. Let’s hope I get further than Serbia this time.

My last days in Brighton have been somewhat tumultuous. I was leaving on the 6th, then the 9th, now tomorrow (10th). Bureaucracy, visa applications and certain confusing relationships have prompted me to give myself extra time, even cutting out Buddhafield Festival where I planned to work. Now I’m going straight to Calais: my first time there in some years.

I know I am behind, very behind, on this blog. It is all being written, but in a somewhat chaotic order. There is one more chapter of the ‘Why I Came Home’ saga coming, and at least two more chapters of Ireland. Speaking of which, I’ve also been writing more outside this blog and have had my second Matador piece published. It’s about my time at Rossport Solidarity Camp in County Mayo: http://matadornetwork.com/change/the-silence-in-county-mayo

More updates coming soon. I’ll also be tweeting from the road: @Jo_Magpie

3 thoughts on “Back to the Road

  1. May the road rise up to meet you.
    May the wind always be at your back.
    May the sun shine warm upon your face,
    and rains fall soft upon your fields.
    And until we meet again,
    May God hold you in the palm of His hand.

    An Irish blessing seems appropriate right now. Go well, my daughter, take care. I love you to the ends of the earth … xxx And I’m so so proud of you and all your achievements. Look forward to reading about your journey on a road pointing East.

    Mum
    xx

  2. May the road rise up to meet you.
    May the wind be always at your back.
    May the sun shine warm upon your face;
    the rains fall soft upon your fields and until we meet again,
    may God hold you in the palm of His hand.

    A traditional gaelic blessing seemed appropriate. Go well, my daughter, take care. I love you deeper than the oceans, wider than the skies, and forever … and I’m so so proud of you and everything you are and do.

    Love
    Mum
    xx

  3. Lisa told me you left on the 10th – good to know that it did happen! I wish you everything good on your way, can’t wait to read about it!!!
    Who knows, maybe it really will happen that we see each other in India. I expect to go there in January.

    Hugs and Love,
    Sara

Leave a Reply

